Schengen Traveler Insurance
Country flag

The Schengen Area and Schengen Zone

Schengen or Shengen?

The right answer is Schengen. 
Schengen is a small town in Luxembourg that lends its name to the agreement that aims to remove border controls in what is now known as the Schengen area. 
It comprises the European countries shown on the map below and which are members of this so-called Schengen zone.

Check your passport's validity date

Its expiry date must be at least three months from your visa application's expiry date.

Apply for a Schengen visa

Use our automatic Schengen visa caculator to determine if you need to apply for a visa or not in just three clicks.
Schengen country area

List of countries in the Schengen area:

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Holland, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland.

The travel documents you need to prepare will vary by country

  • Ticket
  • Invitation, proof of accommodation
  • Schengen insurance policy

Make provision for residence visa fees

Please be aware that your visa may be refused by the consulate or embassy without explanation. 
The Schengen travel insurance policy reimburses these costs up to 50€ on presentation of proof of refusal by the embassy or consulate.

Consult the "cover" section which contains information on Schengen obligations for obtaining the visa along with the price of the Schengen travel insurance.